Ten Years After…

It is still fresh in my mind that how millennium bug issue grabbed the headlines in the newspapers and hit the cover stories of tech magazines worldwide whilst computer industries enjoyed the boost of their sales from this issue by marketing anti-millennium bug protection kits both software and hardware. Eventually we all know that this issue is a little bit blown out of proportion as no significant incidences occurred across the planet caused by this pumped up hullabaloo. Is it a marketing strategy from the computer industries to thrust their sales by kindling that brouhaha? I still have no good answers to that question and it seems that I don’t really care anymore and indeed nobody does!

Now, 10 years have elapsed since the millennium turnover. It is nine years if you think that the new millennium started at 2001 which I think is more correct since in the Christian calendar system there is no year 0 (zero). After 1 BC, it was straightly into 1 AD. But for simplicity and for aesthetics since the number 10 has more psychological impact than that of number 9, I assume that the millennium started at 2000.πŸ˜› Now, 10 years after the millennium turnover what would I do about it? Practically nada! I would only thank God (Allah) that in 10 years He had blessed me with countless things beyond my perception. Forget about my childhood’s imagination on interstellar journeys that mankind makes in the early 21st century or on intelligent robots or androids that help people in their jobs! All those of my childhood’s imagination do not come true as the century or the millennium switched over. But it doesn’t mean that I don’t witness any improvements that ease up my life. Some improvements are readily observed by me since the millennium turnover. Some of them are put in the following list:

  • Of course, I am financially better off with more handsome income I enjoy despite the soaring inflation that pushes up prices. I wish that in coming years (I pray to God) I would even pull down higher income!πŸ˜€
  • Internet connection in this country improves significantly. In the beginning of the century I could only connect to the Net that lumbered at the speed of dial-up connection from home. Now, downloading a movie or an mp3 file is a snap!
  • Thank God I no longer need Telkom (Now it is called Telkom Indonesia) for my telecommunication or Internet needs. Although I still subscribe to the services they offer, the sudden termination of the services from the partly state-owned company would not leave me isolated from the rest of the world!πŸ˜› Ten years ago it was impossible to connect to distant places in other parts of the world without the services from the company!
  • I am now immersed in digital gadgets galore. From the time I wake up in the morning until I hit the sack late at night I have never got away from digital gadgets that make my life easier and more colourful.

And so on…. certainly I am also happy to watch my kids grow up healthily, and I am pleased to see how my closest friends and relatives are going more and more prosperous year in year out. Despite some little flies in the ointment, I thank Him for all His blessings. May this year and the years to come would become more blessed years for all of us.

8 responses to “Ten Years After…

  1. hope the best for pak yari on 2010…. amin….

  2. Waktu aku maen ke tempat boss, tampang nya waktu muda cakep banget, aku bilang sir, u’re really good lookin that time…. dia bilang but have no money, hahaha

  3. @aRuL

    Amin. Thanks for the pray…πŸ™‚

    @Raffaell

    Huahahaha….. you remind me to count the grey hair that grows in my moustache or on my head, and to observe the wrinkles that possibly form up around the eyelids and elsewhere….:mrgreen:

  4. Happy New Year to you and your loved ones. Let us hope that this new year will bring more Peace, Happiness and Prosperity to each and everyone of us.

  5. nobody knows what will happen in the future….however every body has a certain dream that wish could come true hopefully….wishing you joy and happiness…..

  6. indeed, mas. there’s a lot to be grateful for. even our being after ten years is also some miraculous thing, i mean we survive and are not attacked by alien whatsoever. haha.

    happy new year for you, mas. all the best and prosperous year to come, joy and luck. after all, we need the last one too, don’t we?

  7. Happy New Year, Kang Yari…

  8. @Multibrand

    Happy and prosperous new year to you and yours too. Hope that 2010 would be a happier and a more prosperous year than ever to all and sundry. Thank you.πŸ™‚

    @sjafri mangkuprawira

    Wishing you and yours a joyful 2010 too. Particularly I am always happy to see you hale and hearty….πŸ™‚

    @marshmallow

    Yeah….. I imagine… what if now we already make interstellar journeys? Would we have made any contacts with other races in the universe? What if they are mean and vicious? Could we escape annihilation if we are under attack?? Agggh…. too much of sci-fi in my head…. huehehe…. Ok…. topping it off with a wish for a happier and more prosperous 2010 to you and yours! Cheers!πŸ™‚

    @edratna

    Wishing you a happy new year too madam. And a lot of thanks for all ever good virtual (and real) friendship we have!πŸ™‚

Tinggalkan Balasan

